The Headlines

Rosaleen Lewis of Lubavitcher Yeshiva Academy Receives 2019 Excellence in Teaching Award

LONGMEADOW – Rosaleen Lewis, a teacher at Lubavitcher Yeshiva Academy, has been selected as the 2019 Excellence in Teaching Award Winner. 

This award, given every other year to an excellent educator in Jewish community schools, is given as part of the Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Awards program in collaboration with several local foundations and universities. Lewis has been a teacher at LYA since 2011 and teaches Middle School Language Arts and History. She received her B.S. from Springfield College in History and Education, and is currently pursuing her M.A. in Library Science at Simmons College.

Lewis will be honored at a banquet for Excellence in Teaching Award Winners at the Log Cabin in Holyoke on May 1. The program will feature a new awards presentation program that celebrates every winner. Each will receive an engraved plaque and a check for $500, along with tuition incentives and scholarships offered by six major colleges and universities in the region: Elms College, Bay Path University, Springfield College, Western New England University, Westfield State University, and, new in 2019, the University of Massachusetts. Additionally, recipients of the Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Awards also receive a three-month membership to the Springfield JCC for their entire family.

The Excellence in Teaching Awards program is made possible by the Harold Grinspoon Charitable Foundation in partnership with MassMutual and the Irene E. & George A. Davis Foundation. The Springfield JCC coordinates the local Excellence in Teaching Award program for the Jewish community. 

Conversation with Scott Rogowsky
College Scholarships Available
Bulletin board

Comments are closed.